Welcome Serena Central users! CLICK HERE
The migration of the Serena Central community is currently underway. Be sure to read THIS MESSAGE to get your new login set up to access your account.
vt Contributor.
Contributor.

Fortify SSC custom reports

I am just getting into the world of Fortify security scanning and in the process of establishing a workflow at our company. Existing reporting tools at SSC seem to be limited and there is a BIRT project for creating some custom reports. Questions:

1) How widely it is being used and will it not introduce more complicated issues on its own (keep up with versions, upgrades and Java issues)?

2) Is there any valuable alternative to BIRT and default reports?

3) Will BIRT project be recommended to be used by this community?

Thank you.

3 Replies
Respected Contributor.. markberrier Respected Contributor..
Respected Contributor..

Re: Fortify SSC custom reports

I agree that the built in reporting that Foritify offers is marginal at best. I've been using the software for many years and consider myself at an advanced skill level with the tool. 

Everytime I get an online survey that normally is generated from a Case number, I put in the comments of the survey the need for better reporting. Ad Hoc reporting would be best. Perhaps the more that we the users make this comment, the odds increase that someone will take notice and do something about it. We can only hope.

1. I've attempted to create my own custom BIRT reports.  Not very sucessful. There are not any tutorials out there so you will be finding your way in the dark.

2. None that I have found. Though, 18.1 SSC does offer a CSV export now which does allow some manipulation of the data but it still doesn't output the data my clients want to see. They are stuck with the packaged reports that come with the tool.

3. Unknown.

0 Likes
Super Contributor.. ellerm Super Contributor..
Super Contributor..