Captain
Captain

WebInspect Log files Issue

Hi All

I have been using Webinspect for over 6 months now. I found that the scan logs are getting stored in my C drive.
There are mainly two kind of logs - "Scan Data" and "Logs"

Since these logs are occupying space in my C drive, I want to delete these files.
So my questions are
1. If I take a back up and delete these files, will it affect my scans ?
2. If these files are deleted, can I check my previous scans later ?

Labels (1)
0 Likes
1 Reply
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Do not delete those until you read through this explanation!

(1)  Delete these files and you will have no scans left.

(2)  Delete these files and you will not be have no history of scans to look at.

A better solution would be to MOVE these folders and their data to a new partition with more space, and then update your WebInspect Application Settings > Directories panel to match their new location.  These two particular folders house data that should not be placed on a network share, but only on a local partition or drive.

The ScanData folder houses the actual SQL Express scan data files that represent your WebInspect scans.  these are the scans that are visible within WebInspect's Manage Scans UI pane.  It is preferable for you to use that UI to Delete scans, and not from the Windows Explorer folder.  If you use SQL Server instead of SQL Express, this folder is mostly empty.  the files have odd names that are actually the ScanID for each particular scan.  you can edit the visible Columns in the Manage Scans UI to include the ScanID column, if you need help coordinating these.  The ScanID is also part of the information posted in each scan's Scan Log.