MLWeiner Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Requesting all users in the system via REST

I was given a CSV of a bunch of users and I need to make GroupWise users for them. Since there is no native import functionality, I am automating it with a Python app using an old CoolSolutions post as a jumping off point.

The issue I've hit is that if I call to list users so I can scan for duplicates, it only returns the first 1,000 users in the system. I have that nextId in the results I can use (I believe) to continue another call to keep building the list, except I don't know how to format that. In the documentation there is a gwadmin-service/list/{type}/{base} - which I assumed was a search base or continue base or something of the like (it's not documented at all as to what it does) but I have found all kinds of new and creative ways to get 400 BAD_REQUEST errors, but not so much with getting all my users.

Unfortunately I have limited Python experience and none with the GroupWise APIs so I'm pretty much just slapping things together and seeing what errors I get.
Labels (1)
0 Likes
2 Replies
Highlighted
johnbaird Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Requesting all users in the system via REST

Use something like ...list/USER?nextid=2937

The final response when there are no more objects to return does not contain either <nextId> or <outOf> values.

HTH, John
0 Likes
MLWeiner Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Requesting all users in the system via REST

Thanks, I finally had a chance to sit down and try this and it looks like it works perfectly.
0 Likes