iliadmin1 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Disable SSLv3 on GW Webaccess portal due to Poodle

My SSL check for the webaccess shows we are still using SSLv3. I am not a Linux pro, and so I have no idea
where to go and the steps to turn off SSL for the web access. Does anyone have the steps to do this?
I am not having much luck finding anything helpful. Running on SLES 11 SP3.

GW 2018 & Mobility Service-Version: 18.1.0 Build: 410 on SLES 12SP3, GW Client 18.02 (Build 131493) on Windows 7 64bit; server OES 11 on SLES 11 SP3; eDirectory 9.1 on SLES12SP3 and eDirectory 8.8sp8 on SLES11 SP3
Labels (2)
0 Likes
2 Replies
iliadmin1 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Disable SSLv3 on GW Webaccess portal due to Poodle

Ok, I went all over the internet and finally was able to find information that allowed me to fix the SSL issues with the GWIA. I had to edit the /etc/apache2/vhosts.d/vhost-ssl.conf file and add SSL Protocol All TLSv1 -SSLv2 -SSLv3
then add the SSLCipher Suite line to disable insecure suites: SSLCipherSuite ALL:!ADH:RC4+RSA:+HIGH:+MEDIUM:-LOW:-SSLV2:-EXP:!kEDH:!aNULL
Restarted the apache2 service and then retested, and I went from a grade F to a Grade B (highest I can get w/o TLSv1.2).

Have not been able to address the issue with forward secrecy support with the reference browsers. But, the goal of not being vulnerable to the POODLE attack was achieved.

GW 2018 & Mobility Service-Version: 18.1.0 Build: 410 on SLES 12SP3, GW Client 18.02 (Build 131493) on Windows 7 64bit; server OES 11 on SLES 11 SP3; eDirectory 9.1 on SLES12SP3 and eDirectory 8.8sp8 on SLES11 SP3
0 Likes
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

Re: Disable SSLv3 on GW Webaccess portal due to Poodle

iliadmin Wrote in message:

> Ok, I went all over the internet and finally was able to find
> information that allowed me to fix the SSL issues with the GWIA. I had
> to edit the /etc/apache2/vhosts.d/vhost-ssl.conf file and add *SSL
> Protocol All TLSv1 -SSLv2 -SSLv3*