Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral

GroupWise migrate from OES Cluster to Microsoft?

Jump to solution

I have been running GroupWise for many years from NetWare to OES Clusters.  

Real advantage for me is I could install security patches on the OS and know one would notice by flipping the services from one node to the other.

Now that I'm paying more for SLES maintenance than  Windows Server licenses and Cluster licenses at 18K a year.  I questioning if the 20K a year is worth it.

Does anyone in this discussion group run GroupWise on Windows in a VMware with no performance issues or other issues?

0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

The SLES server license provided by Microfocus to run GroupWise would include support for the OS.

This is why Microfocus and SUSE have an agreement in place to look after our joint customers and partners.
So, as long as the intention is to only use the SLES license to run GroupWise, Microfocus will always engage SUSE for OS issues.

View solution in original post

18 Replies
Knowledge Partner Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

I think a SLES license for GroupWise server is still included if I take this information:

https://community.microfocus.com/t5/GroupWise-Tips-Information/GroupWise-Entitlements/ta-p/1779881

I have some customers using GroupWise on Windows. My feeling is that Windows is slower - the main reason is GroupWise offiles directory: really a lot of files in 255 directories if your system is not small. Many files in one directories can cause a serious performance issue for some operating systems and applications. In my opinion Linux can handle this in a very good way.

One of my customers has been touched by crypto-locker viruses. All windows systems have been suffered damage. Independent of usage by users, databases or other applications. But SLES stayed cool in this environment.

Diethmar Rimser
This community is more powerful if you use Likes and Solutions
0 Likes
Vice Admiral