Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.
650 views

Synchronize Group makes group empty

We migrated to 2014 back over the holiday break.

In the GW admin page, when I click on a user group, then synchronize, the group becomes empty.

When I go to the general tab it shows the cn and ou for the group. There is NO group associated in edir/ldap.

Luckily I did this to a small group, but could have been worse.

The GW groups were never actual NDS groups through all the years of running GW (since 1990).

Ideas? Suggestions? So I do not kill any more groups.

Yes I can go to a group and edit it, with out clicking synchronize, but if another admin does by accident, or on purpose, I do not want to loose large system groups.

Thanks

-Larry Johnson
College of Southern Maryland
Labels (1)
0 Likes
2 Replies
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

worm5406,

It appears that in the past few days you have not received a response to your
posting. That concerns us, and has triggered this automated reply.

Has your problem been resolved? If not, you might try one of the following options:

- Visit http://www.novell.com/support and search the knowledgebase and/or check all
the other self support options and support programs available.
- You could also try posting your message again. Make sure it is posted in the
correct newsgroup. (http://forums.novell.com)

Be sure to read the forum FAQ about what to expect in the way of responses:
http://forums.novell.com/faq.php

If this is a reply to a duplicate posting, please ignore and accept our apologies
and rest assured we will issue a stern reprimand to our posting bot.

Good luck!

Your Novell Forums Team
http://forums.novell.com


0 Likes
Highlighted
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Hi Larry,

Sorry for the slow response.

Only an "associated" group has the synchronize button in the Admin Console. Somewhere there is still some sort of association.

I suggest that you go to one of your small groups, click on the More drop-down list, and click on Dissociate - that will remove any lurking associations. The synchronize button should no longer be there.

Let us know how it goes.

Cheers,
Laura Buckley

Views/comments expressed here are entirely my own.
If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation and click on "Like" below...
0 Likes
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of Micro Focus. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation. Certain versions of content ("Material") accessible here may contain branding from Hewlett-Packard Company (now HP Inc.) and Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company. As of September 1, 2017, the Material is now offered by Micro Focus, a separately owned and operated company. Any reference to the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks is historical in nature, and the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks are the property of their respective owners.