Honored Contributor.. Kostas Dimakis Honored Contributor..
Honored Contributor..

Layer2 network discovery

Jump to solution
Hello forum,

I wanted to know if Layer 2 discovery is supported by DDMi. I mean, can we see in the network map two Layer2 switches connected through their ports at L2 level? i.e. Switch A, Ethernet port 1/2/1 connected to Switch B, Ethernet port 1/2/2.

No IPs and logical subnets, just plain Layer2 (MAC level) connectivity.

Is this supported by DDMi in general?

I am new to it and as hard as I am trying I cannot make it do a L2 discovery. It finds my switches and routers, it shows the L2 ports but then it shows in map only the connections between the devices and the Logical Subnet at Layer3 level (meaning only for those that have an IP address).

I wonder if I am doing something wrong or this is out of the product's capabilities.

This capability is very crucial for me because I want to provide availability of the links to my customer for all links (port to port) even if they don't have an IP address.

The fact is that is sees all these MAC ports and knows if they are operational or not, BUT IT DOES NOT UNDERSTAND TO WHICH PORT ON ANOTHER DEVICE ARE CONNECTED.

Is this normal?

Thanks in advance for your responce. Points always granted.

Kostas

0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Adam Evans Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Layer2 network discovery

Jump to solution
Kostas,

The initial license (the 5 licenses that you get when you install the product initially) does include 5 licenses for Topology, however, you will not be able to purchase new Topology licenses. When you apply any new permanent license, the existing 5 Topology licenses will go away, since it is no longer part of the product.

Thanks,
Adam.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
9 Replies
Matthew Darwin Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Jump to solution
You have network topology license correct?