Welcome Serena Central users! CLICK HERE
The migration of the Serena Central community is currently underway. Be sure to read THIS MESSAGE to get your new login set up to access your account.
Highlighted
Keng Super Contributor.
Super Contributor.

Azure Driver: Newbie Questions

Hi All,

This is my first time doing IDM with Office 365 accounts whether old O365 or Azure Driver. So I need as much help if possible.

This is an educational instituition setup. Student is already using the O365 emails and Office online. Current process is using batch script to create O365 accounts whereby gonna replaced by Micro Focus IDM.

Existing O365 accounts is about 150K. The initial import will be via LDIF for these accounts.

My questions are as below

(i) Assuming my initial Azure Driver with approriate O365 Licensing setup, what would happen when I first run the Azure Driver ? My worry is that the Azure Driver will DELETE or DISABLE the O365 accounts when no match.

(ii) Assuming Azure Driver is running, what would happend when I start to import the Student LDIF ?

(iii) From Azure Driver schema mapping, I see it mapped CN to userPrincipalName. My understanding is userPrincipalName  will contain dot which eDirectory doesn't like. Won't that cause some issues ? From the data, the email address would be matching the userPrincipalName, so I have to change the mapping in Schema Mapping ?

(iv) There would be one way creation / modification /deletion to O365, the Publisher Channel will be disabled. Is there any concerns about this ?

(v) As I trying to understand from threads about Azure Driver, in my scenario I do not require to setup Identity Manager Service for Exchange Online which requires a Windows Server and Powershells. Am I correct ?

(vi) Also possible with Azure Driver, when the student graduates, we could move them to another O365 Domain ? If the O365 Domain is as such

Parent : unitest.com (Parent)

Student: students.unitest.com (Student O365 Domain)