Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner
232 views

Have to close policy after editing and saving it before Designerdetects changes

4.5.3 20160122, Win2012R2

After editing a policy builder policy and saving it, if I do a
compare/deploy, Designer doesn't detect any changes.

I have to *close* the policy before it "sees" that it has changed.

After that I can do a compare/deploy.

This is a policy that is part of a package, doesn't matter if I edit it
in the package development vault or directly in the "real" vault, the
star (*) that appears when you edit a policy that is part of a package
doesn't display until I close it...

Anybody else notice this? It really gives me a motivation to go to the
south pole and study ice all day long instead of working in Designer 😉
Labels (1)
0 Likes
7 Replies
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

Re: Have to close policy after editing and saving it before Designer detects changes

alekz wrote:

> Anybody else notice this?


I see something similar when switching tabs, i.e. edit and save in one tab,
then try to deploy the change from another one. As long as I stay on the same
tab I have not notices this so far.

--
http://www.is4it.de/en/solution/identity-access-management/
______________________________________________
https://www.is4it.de/identity-access-management
0 Likes
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

Re: Have to close policy after editing and saving it before Designerdetects changes


I have the same issue but have not pinpointed it to when it gets saved.

Yesterday I even managed to edit a rule, save it and deploy. Changed
tabs to work with something else and later when I compared the first
driver the correct code was deployed but missing in designer.
It is certainly acting very strange.


--
joakim_ganse
------------------------------------------------------------------------
joakim_ganse's Profile: https://forums.netiq.com/member.php?userid=159
View this thread: https://forums.netiq.com/showthread.php?t=55330

0 Likes
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

Re: Have to close policy after editing and saving it beforeDesignerdetects changes

On Wed, 10 Feb 2016 14:46:14 +0000, joakim ganse wrote:

> I have the same issue but have not pinpointed it to when it gets saved.
>
> Yesterday I even managed to edit a rule, save it and deploy. Changed
> tabs to work with something else and later when I compared the first
> driver the correct code was deployed but missing in designer. It is
> certainly acting very strange.


I wonder if this is yet another artifact of each "tab" being a full in
memory copy of the project, and that only one tab can ever be saved at a
time. If you dirty two of them, you're going to lose something.


--
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
David Gersic dgersic_@_niu.edu
Knowledge Partner http://forums.microfocus.com

Please post questions in the forums. No support provided via email.
If you find this post helpful, please click on the star below.
0 Likes
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

Re: Have to close policy after editing and saving it before Designerdetects changes

David Gersic wrote:

> I wonder if this is yet another artifact of each "tab" being a full in
> memory copy of the project, and that only one tab can ever be saved at a
> time. If you dirty two of them, you're going to lose something.


Not in general. I often dirty two or more tabs, just hit Ctrl-Shift-S or "Save
All" and all get saved without loss (at least often enough to be sure it works
almost ever.) Only saving the active tab (Ctrl-S or Save..."), then moving to
another you get asked if you want to ignore or reload something (tl;dr) make
sure to hit the unintuitive "ignore" button. This will keep your changes in the
dirty editor so you can save them later. Hit "reload" and you loose changes.

The symptom by which you save something only to find the editor it was saved
from not remembering it until you close and reopen it looks like a different
beast to. Maybe a cose relative, but not the same thing.

--
http://www.is4it.de/en/solution/identity-access-management/
______________________________________________
https://www.is4it.de/identity-access-management
0 Likes
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

Re: Have to close policy after editing and saving it beforeDesignerdetects changes

On Wed, 10 Feb 2016 20:00:24 +0000, Lothar Haeger wrote:

> David Gersic wrote:
>
>> I wonder if this is yet another artifact of each "tab" being a full in
>> memory copy of the project, and that only one tab can ever be saved at
>> a time. If you dirty two of them, you're going to lose something.

>
> Not in general. I often dirty two or more tabs, just hit Ctrl-Shift-S or
> "Save All" and all get saved without loss (at least often enough to be
> sure it works almost ever.) Only saving the active tab (Ctrl-S or
> Save..."), then moving to another you get asked if you want to ignore or
> reload something (tl;dr) make sure to hit the unintuitive "ignore"
> button. This will keep your changes in the dirty editor so you can save
> them later. Hit "reload" and you loose changes.


Yes, that's the symptom of having each tab be a full copy of the project.
If you dirty one part of the project, all other tabs are affected. If you
Reload, you lose *this* tab's changes. If you Ignore, I think you risk
losing the *other* tab's changes.


> The symptom by which you save something only to find the editor it was
> saved from not remembering it until you close and reopen it looks like a
> different beast to. Maybe a cose relative, but not the same thing.


Maybe. I think they're the same thing. If it got written to disk, maybe
close / open is sufficient to get the new tab to read the on-disk version.


--
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
David Gersic dgersic_@_niu.edu
Knowledge Partner http://forums.microfocus.com

Please post questions in the forums. No support provided via email.
If you find this post helpful, please click on the star below.
0 Likes
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

Re: Have to close policy after editing and saving it before Designerdetects changes

David Gersic wrote:

> Yes, that's the symptom of having each tab be a full copy of the project.
> If you dirty one part of the project, all other tabs are affected. If you
> Reload, you lose this tab's changes. If you Ignore, I think you risk
> losing the other tab's changes.


I think you only loose changes when hitting "ignore" if you edited *the same
resource* on both tabs in parallel and both changes are unsaved to start with.
Otherwise you should be fine.

--
http://www.is4it.de/en/solution/identity-access-management/
______________________________________________
https://www.is4it.de/identity-access-management
0 Likes
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

Re: Have to close policy after editing and saving it before Designerdetects changes


I don't know what Designer really is doing but it sure is behaving
strange.
Especially when there is lack of memory and processor.

Right now I had 4 tabs in s small project open and edited a driver
filter in one of them.
I then hit save, clicked on the overview tab and did a compare.
Designer told me it was equal, waited a moment did it again, same thing.
It was still equal.
I switched back to the filter tab, did nothing and switched back to the
overview.
Now when I did a compare it acknowledged my edit and I could upload it
to eDir.

Not sure if it was only the time or if it was actually the switching of
tabs that made it recognize the change.


--
joakim_ganse
------------------------------------------------------------------------
joakim_ganse's Profile: https://forums.netiq.com/member.php?userid=159
View this thread: https://forums.netiq.com/showthread.php?t=55330

0 Likes
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of Micro Focus. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation. Certain versions of content ("Material") accessible here may contain branding from Hewlett-Packard Company (now HP Inc.) and Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company. As of September 1, 2017, the Material is now offered by Micro Focus, a separately owned and operated company. Any reference to the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks is historical in nature, and the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks are the property of their respective owners.