rs_0 Respected Contributor.
Respected Contributor.

Identity Application Rest API Authentication

Hi, I am new to the Identity App and Rest APIs. I am attempting to access the /osp/a/idm/auth/oauth2/grant URL to obtain an access token. I am using the PowerShell Invoke-WebRequest command to make the call and I keep getting a 401 Unauthorized error. I am guessing I have the wrong credentials entered but I am not sure where to configure or find the credentials. Any advise would be appreciated.

Documentation I have been using:
https://www.netiq.com/documentation/identity-manager-developer/rest-api-documentation/idmappsdoc/#/Access
Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Likes
11 Replies
Respected Contributor.

Re: Identity Application Rest API Authentication

I managed to make some progress. I was not adding the Authorization header. Adding that header got me to a new error page "NetIQ Access Error". I imagine it is some kind of permissions configuration but I have not yet found the answer.
0 Likes
sma2006 Outstanding Contributor.
Outstanding Contributor.

Hi,

Usually I use "insomnia" third party to test IDM REST connection and request .

here is an extract of my request to get the token :

curl --request POST \
--url http://win-idm2.demo.com:8080/osp/a/idm/auth/oauth2/grant/ \
--header 'accept: application/json' \
--header 'accept-charset: UTF-8' \
--header 'authorization: Basic cmJwbTpub3ZlbGw=' \
--header 'content-type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded' \
--cookie netiq_idm_rbpm_acsrf=0dc0efbb-20b3-41ad-a4ab-d828fd3936db \
--data 'grant_type=password&username=uaadmin&password=novell'

The here the request to get resources :

curl --request GET \
--url 'http://win-idm2.demo.com:8080/IDMProv/rest/catalog/resources?q=*' \