Highlighted
Regular Contributor.
Regular Contributor.

Scripting Driver DUM Question(s) ...

Hello!

While I've got a fair amount of experience with NetIQ IDM--well, I'm certainly no Aaron  or David or Geoff--I've never written a scripting driver before.

And I'm sure that to all of you reading this, it seems like I'm being lazy by not going through all the setup to test this myself.  However, we're on such a tight timeline, I really need the driver scripts I write to work as quickly as possible.

We're  now embroiled in a Team Dynamix deployment.  We've selected the scripting driver to do the heavy lifting of user and group provisioning.  A colleague of mine is writing the driver code, while I'm writing the driver scripts.

We are NOT using Team Dynamix's terrible, awful People Import Utility.  I can elaborate on that privately, if you'd like.

We're only concerned about synchronizing data from our identity vault to Team Dynamix, so I'm doing everything via the subscriber channel.  Also, my scripting driver scripts are written in Python.

Now, onto my "Scripting Driver DUM Question(s) ...".

So, I assume the data leaves the driver after the output transform, but how is the information actually transmitted from the driver to the driver scripts?

I know the scripting driver scripts don't see an actual XML document.  Instead, the scripting driver scripts actually see the driver output as a series of lines of "ADD_[attribute name][space][attribute value]" and REMOVE_[attribute name][space][attribute value]" pairs.

I also know that you use the ussmh command to interact with the driver.

But, what is ussmh actually "touching"?  Shell environment variables?  A text file?  A stream?  Even my colleagues who have written scripting driver drivers are confused about this.