Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Installing Probes in IBM WebSphere Application Server

Good day,

i'm a Websphere newbie trying to setup HP Diagnostics 8.04 to monitor java applications on IBM WebSphere application server 6.1

i have installed HP Diagnostics 8.04 server component on a SUSE Linux version 2.6.16.46-0.12-bigsmp machine

also have IBM Webphere application server 6.1 installed on AIX 5.3 together with HP Diagnostics 8.04 probes

i'd like to ask the following questions:
1. what would be the best way to intrument my jvm?
2. The previous guy who setup the current version of Diagnostics used -javaagent argument in the startup script for the JVM which according to EOH Gallium and "installtion documentation" is not adviced for J2RE 1.5.0 IBM J9 version due to a number of known issues with the IBM JVM including high CPU usage and memory leaks. i was then adviced to use jreinstrumentor which will give me an Xbootclasspath statements instead of -javaagent. I have now tried to use the jreinstrumentor and got the -Xbootclasspath statement which i have saved in the WAS console's Generic JVM arguments (Application servers > Server1 > Process Definition > Java Virtual Machine)PROBLEM is now the server fails to start and when i look in the probe.log i see the following error attached. if anyone can please advice on that please.
3. i have been adviced to also allocate additional memory to the max heap for the JVM by adding -Xmx???m to the java settings in the application's startup script which i'm not sure where to do.

Your expert advice will be highly appreciated and thanking you in advance

Regards

WAS Newbie 🙂

0 Likes
1 Reply
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Installing Probes in IBM WebSphere Application Server

duplicate post
0 Likes