Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

VU Gen won't launch IE

Hi,
I've been using LR for many years now and have never encountered this issue before, so am hoping that someone out there in forum land may be able to assist.

I've just installed LR 9.5 on Windows Server 2003 Standard x64 Edition (as part of a VM farm). When I attempt to use VU-Gen using the basic Web Protocol, it won't even launch IE6.

I attempted other protocols and even tried to see if it could open ANYTHING... it couldn't even open Notepad.exe.

LR doesn't produce any errors or messages - it just doesn't launch anything.

I've checked:
- Add-ins within IE (all disabled)
- Disabled DEP on Windows

Other things to note:

- Internet Explorer Enhanced Security Configuration is enabled on this particular machine - however, it's not launching ANYTHING, even outside of LR.

I had installed LR to a different directory other than the default, and then considered that this may have been causing problems (ie,. not installed to the correct x86 Program Files). So I uninstalled and reinstalled to the default directory, and exactly the same thing occurs.

Even if I manually launch IE and manually start recording the test (not on script record startup) - it ignores the Session.

I have also attempted to record in the older recording engine, however, no change.

Basically.. it's like something is blocking LR from hooking into anything - IE or otherwise.

Does anyone have any other thoughts of things I could try?
Any thoughts?
0 Likes
3 Replies
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: VU Gen won't launch IE

Incidentally, the recorder opens up... and is in record mode... but naturally, 0 events are ever recorded.

The Protocol Analysis tool also comes up empty.
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

OK.. further grunting around on these forums and on Google, gave me this (from Dmitry Shevchenko) :
~~~~~~~~
"Jun 25, 2009 17:09:24 GMT