Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

loadrunner and linux

Hi all,

I am a bit new to load runner. My question is, how can i interact with a linux machine using load runner. To put it as an example, i know the ip address,username and password of a linux machine. With these details i need to connect to that linux machine and then do a basic 'ls' or 'll' request there and then logout of that linux machine.

Does any protocol in loadrunner which helps in doing this?

Can somebody help me in this? i need to do this from a windows machine where my loadrunner is installed.

Thanks in advance.
0 Likes
7 Replies
Highlighted
Established Member..
Established Member..

Re: loadrunner and linux

Which version of LR u r using?? if u r using version 9.5X or more then u can use the protocol advisor....or else u can try two protocols like RMI or winsock....though i am not sure....better to use protocol advisor..
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

thanks Prasenjit .. i am using the version 9.5.. ok i will try checking with the protocol advisor...
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Kinldy elaborate about your requirement. Do you need to perform any kind of front-end activity which hits the linux servers and then monitor the linux box's performance? If that is the case you can use a third party monitoring tool site scope.
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Thanks srinivas,
Actually my requirement is, i need to connect to a linux machine using my loadrunner script. Normally from windows machine we use the tool Putty for connecting to a linux machine. I need to do the same using my loadrunner script without using any tools. So when i run the load runner script, it should establish a connection to the linux machine and perform some operations and then exit from that linux machine. Is this possible through loadrunner scripts?
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Dear Kandy,