Highlighted
Super Contributor.
Super Contributor.

Community Edtion of LoadRunner and commercial use

Hi, I think I'm blind. I'm trying to show to my customer (I'm a consultant) whether the Community Edition of LoadRunner might or might not be used commercially,  but I do not find the passage outlinging this.

I'm thinking about the situation where one might want to wet the appetite for LoadRunner as a tool amongst agile developing teams when they've started to run into different limitations of other tools. Would it be possible to spread a lot of COmmunity Edition instances to all the teams to be experimented with and to getting started with just getting things working - and then running better load tests with larger numbers using the existing installation(s)?

Could you please supply a link to the relevant EULA and the article inside it?

0 Likes
5 Replies
Highlighted
Acclaimed Contributor.
Acclaimed Contributor.

Re: Community Edtion of LoadRunner and commercial use

Hi,

We have customers who are doing exactly what you said and build their DevOps strategy this way. I am not sure if it is allowed or not by the EULA, I think it is the whole essence of the community edition, but I am not the legal authority.

I do know it is not allowed to provide consulting services using the community edition. Not hinting you are doing so 🙂
it is also not allowed using multiple instances of the community edition in order to drive aggregated workload than is higher than 50 Vusers in order to avoid paying for license or support.

Regards,
Shlomi

0 Likes
Highlighted
Super Contributor.
Super Contributor.

Hello Shlomi, according to Microfocus Sweden, the gist of the Community Edition is "no commercial use".
Running a PoC? Yes.
Running 50 vu each day on a component to verify changes, does it still perform well? No.