Highlighted
New Member.

Difference between Load Runner and Load Generator

Hi all,

I am new to load runner and would like to install it on a Ubuntu 16.04 server version. However I am not sure it allows installation on this OS. Reading through the installation manual, chapter 2 talks about installing load runner on windows while chapter 3 talks about installing load generator on Linux.

Please can you explain to me the difference and how I am supposed to go about it. I will appreciate your response.

Thank you.

Tags (1)
0 Likes
3 Replies
Highlighted
Acclaimed Contributor.
Acclaimed Contributor.

Re: Difference between Load Runner and Load Generator

Hi Kums,

LoadRunner is the entire tool / solution and contains all components. As such - it can be installed only on a windows OS.

If you install in a distributed mode (i.e. all parts installed separately on dedicated servers) - you can install the Load Generator, the module that injects the actual load on the AUT, on a Linux OS.

As you are a newcomer to the tool, I recommend you start with reading the documentation, go through the tutorial and I believe you'll have a better understanding of the different components.

Hope this helps,

Lior 

0 Likes
Highlighted
New Member.

Thank you so much for the reply. I will look through the tutorial. I already used the tutorial by guru99, but will have a look at the one you sent me.

Can you please enlighten me on this. I have an application deployed on a Ubuntu server and would like to use Load Runner for testing and since I can't install load runner on Ubuntu, what is the best approach to use. I want to keep the issue of internet connectivity out of it, although I read that one can configure Load Runner to simulate the bandwidth needed.

Thank you and looking forward to your response.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Acclaimed Contributor.
Acclaimed Contributor.

Hi