Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Transaction "Pass" or "Fail"

Hello,

I am new to HP LoadRunner and am having an issue with my entire "action" transaction failing, due to "fail" status on a page that should not be "Failing" - its simply the first page of my app which is a static page and serves nothing but some text and a button.

This first transaction is failing, causing my whole test to have the action transaction fail.  What is the conditions for a "failure" - i.e. what is being tested that would not pass a test, when the only thing happening is a simple page request.  This seems like a fundamental concept of how the tests are run with the VuGen scripts and I don't think I fully understand what LoadRunner is considering pass or fail conditions.

Any help at all would be very helpful!  Thank you!

0 Likes
2 Replies
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Transaction "Pass" or "Fail"

This is most likely caused by a response containing an HTTP code other than "success" (i.e. not 200, 201, 202 etc.)

You can make the following changes in your script's Run-time settings to avoid such failures:

1. In "Miscellaneous" section, check "continue on error" (although that will cause the script to skip over all errors, including the ones you'd like to see)

2. In "Preferences" secion, "Advanced" sub-section, check "List non-critical resource errors as warnings"

3. In "Preferences" secion, "HTTP" sub-section, check "Mark HTTP errors as warnings"

Also, look for instances of web_reg_find in your script. You may have text checks, which are looking for text, which was there during the recording, but can't be found during the replay.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Transaction "Pass" or "Fail"

Thank you VERY much that was instructive.  I will go through the app and make the suggested changes / look for the issues you mentioned.  This helps shed some light on some of the things we've been seeing in Analysis.

0 Likes