Absent Member.
Absent Member.

TruClient failing to replicate actions after several steps

EDIT: Loadrunner Version 12.5, error persists in all browsers.

Good morning/Afternoon I'm a LoadRunner script dev for my company and I've hit a frustrating issue that looks to be a defect within the current release model and I'd like to know if anyone has found a workaround.

ISSUE: LoadRunner's TruClient will not perform recorded actions

Steps to Replicate:

1. Make a Loadrunner TruClient for a large scale webapp with over 300 Steps.
  2. Run test of Loadrunner.
  3. After many steps (Around 100 or so) it will simply stop performing certain actions. In particular it seems to avoid pushing buttons or hitting enter, even though it's set in javascript to correctly identify the element.

Notes: 

The issue seems to be intrinsic to the LoadRunner program. It will occasionally fail to find a portion of the test where it types a "Quote number" (to use the webapp's terminology) into a text field and then does not press enter to search.  Or it fails to press the "New Item" button within the webapp. However the button will react as if something pressed it (changes color) but fails to execute. If the rules are run again the button will successfully execute. This failure to launch is also unable to be replicated in repeating the process without Loadrunner, which strongly suggests this is a LR issue. 

Has anyone encountered this issue and if so, how were you able to get around it? I have already tried the obvious in switching from automatic to JS, to X Path, as ID methods, and it does nothing unfortunately. So I am here to try and seek an answer. Thank you in advance for your time and help.

-Matthew

0 Likes
10 Replies
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Which LoadRunner version and browser are you using?

Please try the following:

Add wait step before the failed click button step.

or

replace the failed step with an Evaluate javascript on object step.