Highlighted
Frequent Contributor.
Frequent Contributor.

Truclient : Variable being used instead of its value in the Field under Test

Jump to solution

Hi team

Apologies for this very basic question but I am a beginner and hence trying to find out what my error is.

I have saved a Parameter value but when calling this Parameter value through a variable or on by the Parameter name itself, the object (textbox) seems to be typing the variable name or the Parameter name instead of its value.. What am i doing wrong?

Example:

var entity = TC.getParam("Entity")   // Note : this holds a value  101

But when i use this   variable in my preceding step, where the object is identified and has to input the value, it types the variable name instead

ie

Type entity in EntityTextBox  // Note entity is the variable used above and EntityTextBox is the field  under test

Output : entity is entered in the textbox EntityTextBox instead of 101.

Any thoughts as to what I am doing wrong here?

Thanks
Thani

0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Outstanding Contributor.. Outstanding Contributor..
Outstanding Contributor..

Re: Truclient : Variable being used instead of its value in the Field under Test

Jump to solution

Try to disable "Simulate a new user on aech iteration"; by default this option is enabled. 

Lorenzo 

View solution in original post

0 Likes
9 Replies
Highlighted

Re: Truclient : Variable being used instead of its value in the Field under Test

Jump to solution

Hi Thani, 

can you try, please, to use this formalism?

object.value = TC.getParam("Entity");

This instruction must be entered in a "Evaluate JavaScript" step from "Toolbox". With this formalism, you can wrote the Entity param value on a form in your web page. 

Tell me if this can fix the problem,

Lorenzo

0 Likes
Highlighted
Frequent Contributor.
Frequent Contributor.

Jump to solution

Hi Lorenzo

Appreciate your help.. .I can confirm that this is now working as per your instructions.