quantised Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Workflow from VuGen to Load runner

Jump to solution

Hi everyone,
I am new to performance testing using HP load runner. I have installed the VuGen 11.0 in my desktop. Now, do i connect with the Load runner to run the scripts i have recorded directly from my VuGen? We have the Load runner installed in a separate server. 

My understanding is that, we can record the scripts from our desktop and save them in the ALM, and then run the loads on Load generator using the scripts from HP ALM. Is this correct?

Can some one please let me know how the work flows from recording the script to running the loads and analysis from component to component.?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Shane_Evans Honored Contributor.
Honored Contributor.

Re: Workflow from VuGen to Load runner

Jump to solution

Scripts are developed in VuGen, then stored either in your local or network filesystem or in ALM for version control and linking to a test case. I recommend reading the VuGen User guide for more information on scripting, correlation and how to manage your scripts.

Scripts are then loaded into the Controller, which is where you define your Scenarios; meaning the target load test. This Scenario can also be stored on a local or network filesystem, or in ALM, and will represent the application usage you wish to produce in order to predict production application behavior. I strongly recommend you read the Controller User Guide that ships with LoadRunner in order to achieve the results you are looking for here. Training is also very useful here, to avoid invalid test modelling.

During your test, you will want to set up monitors for each component of your application infrastructure. Web servers, application servers, databases, networking components, etc... These are configured within the Controller, or in SiteScope.