Highlighted
jwhitson Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Let SLES host DNS or let OES host DNS?

I've been running Netware/OES since 1998 and I have never used the eDirectory integrated DNS or DHCP. I've always had a Linux box sitting around serving as a sort of DNS/DHCP appliance with little to no management overhead. Now, our company is growing and we're setting up remote offices here in the US and in China that will run their own local SLES/OES servers (virtualized on vSphere). So I am starting to wonder whether or not I should move towards the integrated DNS/DHCP or continue with my Master/Slave Linux (Ubuntu) setup.

Are there any technical advantages to using the eDirectory integrated setup or is it more of a preference?

As always, thanks for your input.

J

Jason
Labels (2)
0 Likes
6 Replies
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

Re: Let SLES host DNS or let OES host DNS?

jwhitson;2211666 wrote:
I've been running Netware/OES since 1998 and I have never used the eDirectory integrated DNS or DHCP. I've always had a Linux box sitting around serving as a sort of DNS/DHCP appliance with little to no management overhead. Now, our company is growing and we're setting up remote offices here in the US and in China that will run their own local SLES/OES servers (virtualized on vSphere). So I am starting to wonder whether or not I should move towards the integrated DNS/DHCP or continue with my Master/Slave Linux (Ubuntu) setup.

Are there any technical advantages to using the eDirectory integrated setup or is it more of a preference?

J

Either or to be honest. Some people like the native Linux "management" for DNS, and others like the java console with eDir-enabled DNS.

One could argue that by holding the config in eDir it's more fault-tolerant (based upon how many replicas of that partition there are), whereas if it's on SLES, it's hosted only on that server.
0 Likes
Anonymous_User Absent Member.
Absent Member.

kjhurni sounds like they 'said':