Anonymous_User Absent Member.
Absent Member.
895 views

Netware Client re-connection behaviour.

Hello,

Does anyone know if this is the expected behaviour of the the Novell Client
on a Windows 2000 or XP or a bug?

Scenario:
Login to the network with the Netware Client.
Logout, then login using workstation only using the same account you just
logged in.

The behaviour on our machines is that users can map drives to the netware
servers or go to them using UNC paths without getting a Netware Client Login
Box.
The users are able to connect to the servers and are automatically
re-authenticated to E-Dir.

Client Machines:
Windows 2000 with SP4 or Windows XP with SP2
Novell Client 4.91 with Update package A

Server:
Netware 6.5 SP2


Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Carlos


Labels (1)
0 Likes
1 Reply
Anonymous_User Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Netware Client re-connection behaviour.

This is normal for Windows NT-based operating systems.
You'll only get prompted if a background authentication attempt using the current Windows
username and password is unsuccessful - this is true for Novell and SMB resources (Windows
file server shares).

-Sandy
0 Likes
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of Micro Focus. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation. Certain versions of content ("Material") accessible here may contain branding from Hewlett-Packard Company (now HP Inc.) and Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company. As of September 1, 2017, the Material is now offered by Micro Focus, a separately owned and operated company. Any reference to the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks is historical in nature, and the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks are the property of their respective owners.