Highlighted
Prindl Regular Contributor.
Regular Contributor.

OES2018 SP1DSfW Samba problems

There is a real problem with Samba performance in OES2018 SP1. Unfortunately the DSfW Server only supports Samba as SMB file server product.

Till OES2018 without SP1 one could use Samba to access NSS Volumes on the DSfW server to distribute settings, which one did not want to place on the SYSVOL as there is no real user rights differentiation possible.

Now you can do this as well, but suffer a network throughput of less than 1 kbyte/s. (If you access the same files through Novell client you get an adequate throughput.) So it is useless to put any NSS Volume on a DSfW server.

Labels (1)
0 Likes
7 Replies
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

Re: OES2018 SP1DSfW Samba problems

@Prindl 

I have very little DSfW experience but I have an upcoming deployment so I'm just delving into things. 

According to the OES 2018 SP1: Domain Services for Windows Administration Guide, SAMBA is one of the Unsupported Service Combinations.

If you believe you have a supported configuration, I would open a Service Request and have tech support look at it.

_____
Kevin Boyle - Knowledge Partner - Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Who are the Knowledge Partners?
If you appreciate my comments, please click the Like button.
If I have resolved your issue, please click the Accept as Solution button.
0 Likes
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

@KBOYLE: DSfW *is* /includes Samba. That page you're citing simply tell you not to install novell-samba again.

@Prindl: I know, this doesn't help a lot, but yes, Samba performance sucks, but not as much as you describe it, there must be a more fundamental issue here. I'd start with a Lan Trace.

CU,
--
Massimo Rosen
Micro Focus Knowledge Partner
No emails please!
http://www.cfc-it.de
0 Likes
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

@mrosen