Big news! The community will be moving to a new platform April 21. Read more.
Big news! The community will be moving to a new platform April 21. Read more.
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Upgrade: SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 10 SP3

I recently have task to upgrade my SLES OES server environment. MY firts challenge is:

SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 10 SP3 Novell Open Enterprise Server SP 3 32bit.

I have come across numerous doc explaining the upgrade process, but some reason i'm trying to get my hand around SLES and OES.

I would like to upgrade to version SLES 11 SP3 with OES SP2.

I would like to hear some recommendation methods to upgrade this server. Could I leapfrog to SLES 11 SP3 with OES SP2? I would not mind using the media CD it looks like is faster.

I'm fairly new to this world.
Labels (2)
0 Likes
5 Replies
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Hi,

First off you can't upgrade from 32 bit to 64 bit - you will have to migrate to a new server.

Cheers,
Laura Buckley

Views/comments expressed here are entirely my own.
If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation and click on "Like" below...
0 Likes
Knowledge Partner Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

Hi,

T0R0M0N;2399997 wrote:
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 10 SP3 Novell Open Enterprise Server SP 3 32bit.

As Laura already mentioned, going from 32 to 64bit unfortunately can't be done "in place".

Do you know which services the OES server currently runs that will need to be upgraded tot OES11?

Knowing more details about what's running, how much data needs to be moved, how clients connect (Novell client only, or also via Samba or CIFS for example), etc... would be good.

Cheers,
Willem
0 Likes
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral

On 13/07/2015 05:46, T0R0M0N wrote:

> I recently have task to upgrade my SLES OES server environment. MY firts
> challenge is:
>
>
> SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 10 SP3 Novell Open Enterprise Server SP 3
> 32bit.