Trusted Contributor.. Mitisha Trusted Contributor..
Trusted Contributor..

Directory Permission check failed while installing OBR

Jump to solution

Hi all,

while installing HP-OBR it shows me error that Directory permission failed: "you must provide 'rwxrwxr-x' permission to OBR install directory and top level root directory of Installer media bits must have 'rwxrwxrwx' permission. *IMP* : Installer media bits cannot be in '/opt' directory."

one or more above checks failed.

even i checked all these things its all correct .PFA

please help me where i am lacking... i am new in this.

Capture3.PNGCapture.PNG

0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Respected Contributor.. Chris_A Respected Contributor..
Respected Contributor..

Re: Directory Permission check failed while installing OBR

Jump to solution

During our install we found that the installer removes and recreated the /optHP/BSM directory and then checks the permissions.  Since the directory isn't created with the right permissions this way, it failes the check.  

After the check is failed, open a second terminal window and set the permissions to the desired 755 (chmod 755 /opt/HP/BSM).  Return to the first window and repeat the check.

View solution in original post

4 Replies
Manjunath_J Super Contributor.
Super Contributor.

Jump to solution

Hi Mitisha,

As per your screenshoot you may have to give the full permission to the packages folder as well and try to install the OBR.

The command is chmod 777 -R packages or chmod 755 -R packages.

Kindly let me know if anything required.

Regards,

Pranav R N

0 Likes
krishna_rao Outstanding Contributor.
Outstanding Contributor.

Jump to solution

HI

As mentioned by Pranav, please provide permission of RWX to the software download folder, in your case it is /media.

provide as  chmod -R 777 /media.

secondly since the product installation is not yet started, if any sub  folders in /opt/HP  delete it those and start the installation again in new session.