Honored Contributor.. RiverRat_1 Honored Contributor..
Honored Contributor..
248 views

OO 10.80 Central CP Reverts and "ghost" overrides after reverts ???

Jump to solution

This hopefully has been questioned before.

What is the expected behavior in OO Central (10.80 in this case) where you import a CP (or two) into Central that has new sytsem properties and you get an override or two for some of the new system properties.  Then, shortly later you have to revert the CP update.   The new system properties with overrides should vanish from Central, correct ?  I'm pretty sure they do as the underlying UUID is gone.

But what about the overrides themselves ????????  Are those wipe from the OO Central DB as part of the revert ???  I have a feeling they are not.  If that's true, then a revert is not a fully-complete-true revert.  It's only a partial revert.

What I just seen is this:

1) Two CP were imported at the same time and we created overrides for some new system properties that did not exist before.

2) An issue was found so we did a revert.  Things *visually* back how they were in Cnetral and flow working again.

3) Update the issue in Studio and recreate the impacted CP.  Reimport back into Central.

4)  The expectation is since a revert was done we should have to re-create the overrides for system properties that did not exist before CP was imported in step #1.  But ... the overrides magically re-appeared hence why my title has "ghost" in it.

Is this expected behavior for revert ?  It dosn't logically make sense.

Thanks for any comments.

 

0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Re: OO 10.80 Central CP Reverts and "ghost" overrides after reverts ???

Jump to solution

Hi,

The intended behavior is that when you rollback a deployment or a deletion only the content included in the content packs affected by the rollback are modified. Any central overrides are separate entities created in central on top of existing content. In similar fashion when you deploy a new content pack version  on top of an existing version the overrides will not be affected by this action. 

While it is true that during rollback  you may have to do a manual cleanup of the overrides in the case of configuration items which are no longer present, it is also true that in case you rollback to an earlier version of the content pack in order to avoid some flow related issues created by the new content pack, you won't have to recreate the overrides manually.

Regards,

Vlad

1 Reply
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Re: OO 10.80 Central CP Reverts and "ghost" overrides after reverts ???

Jump to solution

Hi,

The intended behavior is that when you rollback a deployment or a deletion only the content included in the content packs affected by the rollback are modified. Any central overrides are separate entities created in central on top of existing content. In similar fashion when you deploy a new content pack version  on top of an existing version the overrides will not be affected by this action. 

While it is true that during rollback  you may have to do a manual cleanup of the overrides in the case of configuration items which are no longer present, it is also true that in case you rollback to an earlier version of the content pack in order to avoid some flow related issues created by the new content pack, you won't have to recreate the overrides manually.

Regards,

Vlad

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of Micro Focus. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation. Certain versions of content ("Material") accessible here may contain branding from Hewlett-Packard Company (now HP Inc.) and Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company. As of September 1, 2017, the Material is now offered by Micro Focus, a separately owned and operated company. Any reference to the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks is historical in nature, and the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks are the property of their respective owners.