Dibs Contributor.
Contributor.

Open browser

hi All, 

I am new to HP OO and tried to create a simple flow. My objective is to oepn the browser and open the google website. Please find as attached for the screensht of my flow as the flow prompted an error. 

Thanks 

Regards,

Dibs

0 Likes
4 Replies
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Re: Open browser

For learning and simplicity purposes, start with something like ping.

Don't think in OO (*) for GUI oriented actions, keep on unattended actions. Web browsing means several http requests and responses, not the easiest thing to start with. And the starting point will be http client operations (think on wget or curl style) do not run a command to start a graphical program.

(*) if OO alone; for GUI interartive process, take a look to Robotic Process Automation

Regards,

Ramon

0 Likes
Honored Contributor.. RiverRat_1 Honored Contributor..
Honored Contributor..

Learning OO can be hard as the first thing is where do you start !!  But something that isn't readily apparent with OO is what it is really good at.  It's REALLY good at things that are string based with using CLI, REST, WADL, WSDL, BAPI - notice I didn't say GUI.  OO can't do GUIs. 

OO is VERY good at sitting between things and gluing them together.

For example, pulling request tickets from HPSM using the HPSM WSDL, categorizing those Line Items into categories for Active Directory, IBM RACF/TSO, and SAP.  Then going through each category list of Line Items and doing whatever the LI is asking for.  AD is integrated with via LDAP API, RACF is integrated with via Telnet, and SAP is integrated with via SAP BAPIs.  Then updating each respective HPMS LI with a comment about success or failure and closing the LI or moving it to another HPMS queue for human intervention.

So I'd start with something like Active Directory.   Get a simple flow to prompt for a User ID and then using an AD query to pull information about that user and dispaly is back.