KlausR_DXC
Visitor.

SSH command via RAS to Linux box over slow network results in "timeout: socket is not established"

Hello, I am an architect who inherited an installation of HPE Codar/OO 10.70 with some designs, installing an application on a Linux farm over a sometimes very slow gateway via a Windows 2012 VM based RAS. The slow gateway unfortunately is beyond our control.

What happens now is that, after the gateway became extra-slow recently (SSH from hand takes anywhere from 0.5 to 10 seconds to respond), the RemoteCommand execution aborts because its timeout is reached. I now have a hard time finding the place where a low timeout is set, as the default shouldn't be 1 second.

Where could that setting be lowered to such a low value, and what methods are there to set this SSH timeout ? I cross-read all of the OO 10.70 documentation PDFs I found on the installation folder, but couldn't find any configuration value for the SSH timeout in general, or an example. On OO 9.0 I found the info that a parameter dharma.ssh.session.timeout exists, but no documentation if that still exists in 10.70.

This is the stacktrace from the execution log, any help would be deeply appreciated by me and my colleagues. 😞

2017-11-10 23:51:20,174 [1_WorkerExecutionThread-7_225311154] (PluginAdapterImpl.java:331) ERROR - com.hp.oo.content.ssh.exceptions.SSHException: com.jcraft.jsch.JSchException: timeout: socket is not established
at com.hp.oo.content.ssh.services.impl.SSHServiceImpl.<init>(SSHServiceImpl.java:137)
at com.hp.oo.content.ssh.actions.SSHShellCommand.runSshShellCommand(SSHShellCommand.java:116)
at sun.reflect.GeneratedMethodAccessor103.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:498)
at com.hp.oo.sdk.plugins.abstracts.BaseActionPlugin.execute(BaseActionPlugin.java:53)
at sun.reflect.GeneratedMethodAccessor102.invoke(Unknown Source)