Respected Contributor.. hpooStudent Respected Contributor..
Respected Contributor..

restFul API call to start a flow on OO

Jump to solution

hi i went thru documentation and saw there is way to perform Execute a Flow by UUID using restful API in OO. 
i am new to the system like to check what is this UUID where can i find it and is this the only way to do it via rest API. 
For documentaiton: 
{
"uuid":"8d52dfc3-1de5-48d4-9c2a-887718de4696", “runName”: “run1”,
“logLevel”: “DEBUG”, "inputs":
{
"input1":"value for input1",
"inputn":"value for inputn"
}
}

YH

Labels (1)
0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Super Contributor.. JamesLindsay Super Contributor..
Super Contributor..

Re: restFul API call to start a flow on OO

Jump to solution

I gave up trying with SoapUI and had much better success with Postman. I'm not sure why SoapUI gave me so much trouble.

With Postman I did the following:

I provided the Basic Authentication (which is automatically added as  a header. (See the API_Guide.pdf inthe documentation)

For the POST body I selected  raw and switched the type to JSON (application/json). This added the Content-Type header.

Because I still have CSRF Protection on (See the API_Guide.pdf inthe documentation) I needed to get a token value and add that header to the the POST because it uses the same session ID. To get it I just changed the method to GET

GET https://myhpoohost:8443/oo/rest/v2/executions
in the headers you find X-CSRF-TOKEN 7d38ef08-8563-4d93-b2df-8310948e5943
take this value, switch back to post and add the header X-CSRF-TOKEN and give it the value returned

Assuming you have a valid body

{
"flowUuid":"3ec8882d-22f8-4ab8-aec3-cced69161608",
"runName": "REST Test",
"logLevel": "STANDARD",
"inputs":
{
"Input1":"test1",
"input2":"test2",
"input3":"test3
 }

You should get the result you are looking for. I had to try it a few times to get in sync with the current session token.