Welcome Serena Central users! CLICK HERE
The migration of the Serena Central community is currently underway. Be sure to read THIS MESSAGE to get your new login set up to access your account.
Absent Member.. Trudy Claspill Absent Member..
Absent Member..

PC Server vs. ALM Platform + PC Extensions

Jump to solution

I am a ALM QC administrator (both for the systems and the HP software) new to LoadRunner and Performance Center.  I am trying to understand the PC system architecture and could use some help.

Looking in the PC v11 Installation Guide I find a diagram and definitions for the various pieces of a PC/LR configuration.  The diagram and definitions talk about the "ALM Platform + PC Extensions" and the "PC Server".

What is the difference between these two systems?  I mean, I know what the ALM Platform is, but I'm not getting why it is needed and why it would need to be separate from the PC Server.

These are the descriptions from the document.

ALM Platform. Provides a platform for core ALM functionality.

HP Performance Center Extension. Installed on the ALM Platform,

enables Performance Center functionality. Creates the Lab Management

project where Performance Center administration is managed.

HP Performance Center Server. Hosts the Performance Center Web pages

that enable you to design performance tests, configure monitors, reserve

testing resources, run and monitor test runs, and analyze test results.

Do you have to have an ALM Platform in the configuration?  Does it have to be separate from the PC Server or can one system serve both purposes?

Later in the document it discusses load on the systems.  It doesn't talk about the ALM Platform at all, but for the PC Server it says:

Heavy load.

To balance the load, the ALM Platform has

built in load balancing capabilities.

For additional load balancing support, you can

install multiple Performance Center Servers.