Welcome Serena Central users! CLICK HERE
The migration of the Serena Central community is currently underway. Be sure to read THIS MESSAGE to get your new login set up to access your account.
Highlighted
pwblanch Contributor.
Contributor.

ALM Client slow responses when selecting drop down lists

Has anyone else experienced slow response times (10-30 seconds) with selecting drop down list in the ALM client?  I have some users who experience this and some who don't.  I can't reproduce this.  I checked the DB, performance and app performance.  All are good.  App servers and DB show no signs of performance problems.  I login to the same project and can never reproduce this. 

0 Likes
4 Replies
sheyenne Outstanding Contributor.
Outstanding Contributor.

Re: ALM Client slow responses when selecting drop down lists

Is that list for that particular field in that particular project a long list that perhaps taking time to load in the ALM cache? Or nested perhaps.  Is there workflow code related to the field that is being run at edit of the field? These are some of the factors that I think might cause that. I haven't experienced this myself, narrowing it down to an actual field drop-down list that's taking time to load.

0 Likes
pwblanch Contributor.
Contributor.

• This is for any lists in a project. 
  • The list are between 4 - 10 items.
  • Not nested
  • No workflow code tied to the list

Crazy thing, I can login to the same project and never reproduce the issue. Truly driving me crazy.

0 Likes
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

I understand that it drives you crazy. I did not find this problem. As sheyenne said, check also the workflow code to the field or to the move to action. 

I have also problem with performance problem and the users tell me that they have two computers and on one of them the filtering of some defects takes 30 seconds and on the second  computer it tooks only 1 second on the same action. 

And I cannot reproduce it too.