Trusted Contributor.. kashyapshah Trusted Contributor..
Trusted Contributor..
3108 views

Purge vs Delete test runs

Jump to solution

We have the following environment:
ALM 11.0 patch 9
PErformance Center 11.0 patch 6
QTP 11.0

For housekeeping we plan to remove some old test runs from ALM (that includes QTP automated test runs, manual runs and Performance center runs)
I read the admin guide about repository cleanup and understand that Purge is an option.
I wanted to understand:
1. How different is Purge from delete (if I select the runs and hit delete button)?
2. If a test run are linked to a defect, will Purge be able to still delete that run?
3. If I purge a run I understand that by default it would be deleted after 7 days. During those 7 days if I wish to "unpurge" is that a possibility? If so, how?

 

Thanks,

Kashyap Shah

0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Absent Member.. Trudy Claspill Absent Member..
Absent Member..

Re: Purge vs Delete test runs

Jump to solution
What Purge gives you is a wizard to assist in selecting what you want to delete, rather than making you select items individually.

Purge and Delete have the same effect. Records from the database are deleted immediately. Associated information in the repository (attachments and automated test results) are "marked" for deletion, and will actually be removed by the automatic Repository cleanup process.

Regardless of whether you use Purge or Delete, there is no "undo" for the process. The only way to recover the information is to have made a backup and restore the project.
[If this post solves or helps solve your issue, mark the thread as solved and give KUDOS to the author for their assistance.]

(Opinions expressed in my postings are mine alone, and do not reflect the opinions of my employer.No warranties express or implied for any solution/suggestion posted.)
1 Reply
Highlighted
Absent Member.. Trudy Claspill Absent Member..
Absent Member..

Re: Purge vs Delete test runs

Jump to solution
What Purge gives you is a wizard to assist in selecting what you want to delete, rather than making you select items individually.

Purge and Delete have the same effect. Records from the database are deleted immediately. Associated information in the repository (attachments and automated test results) are "marked" for deletion, and will actually be removed by the automatic Repository cleanup process.

Regardless of whether you use Purge or Delete, there is no "undo" for the process. The only way to recover the information is to have made a backup and restore the project.
[If this post solves or helps solve your issue, mark the thread as solved and give KUDOS to the author for their assistance.]

(Opinions expressed in my postings are mine alone, and do not reflect the opinions of my employer.No warranties express or implied for any solution/suggestion posted.)
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of Micro Focus. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation. Certain versions of content ("Material") accessible here may contain branding from Hewlett-Packard Company (now HP Inc.) and Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company. As of September 1, 2017, the Material is now offered by Micro Focus, a separately owned and operated company. Any reference to the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks is historical in nature, and the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks are the property of their respective owners.