Highlighted
forumadmin Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Parallel flow

Question posted 6/15/09 by Mae
Details:

Could anyone advise me on creating a parallel flow? How could I make a transition from one state branch out simultaneously to two different states, for instance: if a user on State A approves the form, it will proceed to State B and State C at the same time?
Also, is it possible to combine or link 2 sub workflow together? If a user do Action 1 on Workflow A, continue to Workflow B. If user do Action 2 on Workflow A, proceed to Workflow C.
I'm new to Mashup and still in a stage of exploring. I appreciate if anyone could help me on this. Thanks.

0 Likes
2 Replies
Absent Member.

Re: Parallel flow

Comment posted 6/16/09 by mtcarver

It's only one item and so cannot be at two different states at the same time. If you need to have 2 seperate items either in the same states or in a totaly different process flow you'll have to sub-task. Once you sub-task you'll have the ability to have the sub-task action create the links from parent to child and child to parent or no link at all if you desire that.

0 Likes
Absent Member.

Re: Parallel flow

Comment posted 6/16/09 by Oliver Kraus

Let's compare a Workflow with a game: There can be only one ball (=Item) in the game. A new ball is put into the game if an item is submitted into a project.
The ball (usually) has an owner. Someone who plays with the ball can pass the ball to someone else (this is often done by performing a transition from state A to state B)
Just like a physical ball, the item can not be duplicated: You can not simply start with one ball in state A and expect (after a transition) two balls in state B and C. You can only put the ball into state B OR state C, but never both.