SMAX Idea - Don't lose the work done when two users are editing the same content

Idea ID 2685234

SMAX Idea - Don't lose the work done when two users are editing the same content

Some clients are worried about not blocking the edition of a request when another user is modifying it.

I know we are alerting with message "This is not the last version of the request" when we save it and another user saved it before while we was editing, but... in 2019.05 if you click on "accept" in this alert, you lose your changes to get the latest version of the request.

it will be good not to lose changes because this is frustrating for the users.

Expected behavior:

instead of lose changes, merge them with the updated content, alerting the user in those fields where both users made changes. (in that case, it's reasonable that the content for that field should not be overwritten).

 

Best regards

1 Comment
Micro Focus Frequent Contributor
Micro Focus Frequent Contributor
Status changed to: Waiting for Votes

Thank you for sharing your idea! It’s open for comments and kudos, and we’re looking forward to input from the community. Once there is enough community traction, it will be further reviewed by the product team.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of Micro Focus. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation. Certain versions of content ("Material") accessible here may contain branding from Hewlett-Packard Company (now HP Inc.) and Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company. As of September 1, 2017, the Material is now offered by Micro Focus, a separately owned and operated company. Any reference to the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks is historical in nature, and the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks are the property of their respective owners.