bscully Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Redirecting HTTP -> HTTPS

Hi,

I've been using Google's (formerly) PWM for many years and am seriously considering moving to NetIQ's SSPR based on their customization and ease-of-deployment using similar code. While working with PWM, I used a combination of iptables and Tomcat's security-constraint to intercept HTTP/80 to HTTPS/443. Is there a similar "redirect" within, say, the Administration GUI (:9443) or the Configuration Editor to listen and unblock 80 and redirect/require sessions to 443?

My goal is to simplify appliance installs and upgrades using the export/import configuration options and avoid the CLI for configuration tweaks.

Thanks for your time!

Bill
0 Likes
8 Replies
Knowledge Partner Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

Re: Redirecting HTTP -> HTTPS

You can do exactly the same thing with the host-based firewall. On SLES
you can set the FW_REDIRECT setting under /etc/sysconfig/SuSEfirewall2 and
that will do it for you, or you can use your own combination of iptables
rules to do the same thing (SuSEfirewall2 uses iptables under the hood
like just about every other Linux-based firewall out there).

SSPR itself, like PWM, is just a web application that runs within Apache
Tomcat, and Tomcat does not run as 'root' normally, so it cannot do
anything with ports below 1024.

Making an appliance with SSPR should be easy, and in fact the company also
has one for you that will get SLES patches to keep the host OS, Tomcat,
etc. up to date.

--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...
0 Likes
bscully Absent Member.
Absent Member.