Highlighted
Valued Contributor.. Valued Contributor..
Valued Contributor..

Exchange information between two automation tasks

Use case 

Request Model with multiple tasks. Two of them are of type automation and are executed sequentially (-> second automation task will be executed as soon as first automation task is closed). The second task needs information from the first task as an input for the automation. There is a need for exchanging data between the two task without needing manual intervention. 

Approaches I thought of:

Option 1

Use an additional property as an output of automation task 1 and set its value automatically to the needed data as soon as the task is closed. Use the additional property in automation task 2 as an input. 

Problem: I didn't find a way to populate the additional property automatically. I tried to use a validation script but could not make it work. I also had a brief look at rule sets but I'm not experienced with rule sets so I did not find an solution here as well. 

Option 2

Use a java script function in automation task 2 to query the information I need from task 1. I was able to put together a function which performs the query I need. 

Problem: I didn't find a way to get the task number from the previous task in the request model. 

Option 3

Use an additional property as an output of automation task 1 and set its value automatically to the request task (number) of the current task. Use the additional property in automation task 2 as an input and call the js function from option2 to get the data I need. 

Problem: I didn't find a way to populate the additional property automatically. I tried to use a validation script but could not make it work. I also had a brief look at rule sets but I'm not experienced with rule sets so I did not find an solution here as well.