Absent Member.. Absent Member..
Absent Member..

Moving tickets/records from one HPSM server to another

Hi,

Apologies in advance, as I'm a HPSM newbie, so I'm still getting to grips with the terminology.

We have two HPSM servers for differing customers which we are trying merge. One has a small amount of ticket/record data (interaction, incident, change records), as well as the standing data (customer, location etc), so this is the candidate to move to the other server.

Is there a mechanism to move the data, without impacting on the data that currently exists. I was thinking of duplicate ticket/record numbers, for instance.

Any help/guidance would be most welcome :-). Thanks

Mark

0 Likes
5 Replies
Fleet Admiral Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral

Hello,

I have not done such thing and cna not even imagine what will be proper approach. Maybe you can rename the unique keys in one of the systems so you wont get duplication?

0 Likes
Commander Commander
Commander

Hello Mark,

Try the below in test environment before moving to prod,

unload the ticket information into and excel spreadsheet including the ticket number. Change the ticket number data to ensure that there is not conflict, go to db and choose "Text Import Wizard" and follow the steps to input the data. Alternatively you ca use Connect-it to integrate the Excel Spreadsheet to the HPSM to created the tickets in SM.

Regards,

Arvind NR

0 Likes
Absent Member..

Hi Arvind,

Thanks. I'll give that a try and see how it goes 🙂

0 Likes
Absent Member..

Remember to make sure you don't have duplicate user names in contacts and operators tables.

Also, consider the naming conventions you may have for departments and locations, and it's impact on the "moved" data.

If you change ticket numbers, you will have inconsistences in the related records and activities tables.