Absent Member.
Absent Member.

managing tests for embedded real-time software

Hi all,

I am new to silk central and I could use a little help on how to organise tests for embedded real-time  software with SCTM.

We have to test our software on different hardware systems. Each hardware system consists of a CPU module and one or more plug-in boards for I/O operations. The CPU modules may differ in hardware architecture (processor platform, multiprocessing, chipset etc.). Furthermore, even CPU modules with the same architecture may vary in many points, e.g. processor speed, amount of RAM, flash memory…

• Our tests must ensure that each requirement is tested at least once with a reference architecture CPU module.
  • We must undertake smoke and regression testing with all other CPU module architectures.
  • We must record all tested variations in processor speed, RAM…

My idea:

• Using SCTM’s platform test attribute to represent the different hardware architectures (CPU modules) and using configuration suites to represent variations within the same architecture.
  • Each CPU module architecture gets its own test container.  Test definitions are only specified for the reference architecture.  The other CPU module’s test container “inherit” their test definition by linking them to the container for the reference architecture using SCTM’s child link feature for test containers.
  • The requirements are connected to the tests for reference architecture, only.  For other CPU architectures, the child link relationship is evaluated to trace from requirement to test definitions.
  • Using test attributes to mark smoke and regression tests.

Advantages:

• Standard reporting (and requirements view) can be used for tracking of tests on reference architecture CPU modules.
  • No duplication of test definitions.
  • Use of many predefined test reports per test container.
  • Easy and clearly represented execution planning through test containers and test attributes.