Having problems with your account or logging in?
A lot of changes are happening in the community right now. Some may affect you. READ MORE HERE
Ola2 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

How can I convert a date and time string grabbed from an xml and compare it with current time?

Hello I'm quite new at BDL scripting so please be gentle :) 

I have a problem converting  a  timestamp that I grab from an xml and convert it into let's say second since midnight

My method of grabbing the xml value is:

WebXmlParseNodeValue(sXmlParseRs1Rt1Tt1,
STRING_COMPLETE,
ToEncoding("/Results[1]/Result[1]/TestTime[1]"),
NULL,
ToEncoding("text/xml; charset=utf-8")
);

the above code generates a date and time format like this:  2018-11-14T11:13:52.3282097+01:00

I then pick out the date and time in separate variables
StrRegexImmediate( sXmlParseRs1Rt1Tt1,"[0-9]+-[0-9]+-[0-9]+","&", sXmlParseRs1Rt1Tt1b );
StrRegexImmediate( sXmlParseRs1Rt1Tt1,"[0-9]+:[0-9]+","&", sXmlParseRs1Rt1Tt1c );

I can verify that I've grabbed the correct values with 
RepMessage ("formatted Date sXmlParseRs1Rt1Tt1b: " +sXmlParseRs1Rt1Tt1b, SEVERITY_INFORMATIONAL); //this output = 2018-11-14
RepMessage ("formated ToD sXmlParseRs1Rt1Tt1c: " +sXmlParseRs1Rt1Tt1c, SEVERITY_INFORMATIONAL); //this output =11:13

I have also declared nTime variable
nTime := GetCurrentTime();  //this generates current time in seconds since midnight

So after this intro, my question is; how do I convert the HH:MM-string of sXmlParseRs1Rt1Tt1c into a number variable that I can use to compare it with the value of nTime?

[magic code I need help with that converts sXmlParseRs1Rt1Tt1c into seconds from midnight and sets a new variable of nPleaseMakeItWork  ]

Then is should just be a matter of 

if (nTime - nPleaseMakeItWork  > 600)
then
   Repmessage ("Too old ",SEVERITY_ERROR);
else
   Repmessage ("We are good ",SEVERITY_INFORMATIONAL);
end;

Looking forward to your replies

0 Likes
3 Replies
Micro Focus Frequent Contributor