Highlighted
New Member.

Cannot find the "[ WebEdit ]" object's parent "[ Browser ]" (class Browser).

Hi Pros,

I am very new to UFT and I am trying to automate a very simple test case as below:

Launch amazon.com. In the item search type "Male hair band".

For this I am writing the script as below:

Systemutil.run "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe","https://www.amazon.com/"
Browser("micclass:=Browser").Page("micclass:=Page").WebEdit("type:=text","name:=field-keywords","html tag:=INPUT").Set "Male hair band"

When I am executing the script I am seeing error as below:

Cannot find the "[ WebEdit ]" object's parent "[ Browser ]" (class Browser).
Verify that parent properties match an object currently displayed in your application.

Looks like the error is related to object identification. I have tried to record the script and play back. Recorded script is as below and it runs without any issue.

Systemutil.run "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe","https://www.amazon.com/"
Browser("Amazon.com: Online Shopping").Page("Amazon.com: Online Shopping").WebEdit("field-keywords").Set "Male hair band"

I have even tried to add additional properties of the web edit box as abs_x and abs_y in my descriptive progamming script but still the error persists.

Can any one please help me out to resolve the error with my descriptive programing script?

0 Likes
2 Replies
Highlighted
Honored Contributor.
Honored Contributor.

Re: Cannot find the "[ WebEdit ]" object's parent "[ Browser ]" (class Browser).

Hi there.

Do you have the Chrome extnesion for your UFT installation?

Please see the attached image .

Sould look something ike it...

0 Likes
Highlighted
Honored Contributor.
Honored Contributor.

Re: Cannot find the "[ WebEdit ]" object's parent "[ Browser ]" (class Browser).

Abhijnan, 

Use name or title property for browser and page. You can also use creationtime or index.