Highlighted
Respected Contributor.
Respected Contributor.

Connection Oracle database from UFT

Jump to solution

Hi,

I'm new in UFT and I need to conect to a database. I added Oracle in the Add-ins and typed the next code:

DB_CONNECT_STRING = "Provider=OraOLEDB.Oracle; Data Source=(DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)(HOST="myhost")(PORT=1521))(CONNECT_DATA=(SERVICE_NAME="myservice"))); User ID="myuser";Password="mypassword";"

Set myConn = CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
Set objRecordSet = CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")

myConn.Open DB_CONNECT_STRING

In the last line fails and appears the next message:

Provider cannot be found. It may not be properly installed.

I saw in other posts people installed oracle client but I don't know if it's strictly neccesary.

Thanks for your help!

0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Super Contributor.
Super Contributor.

Hi,

As far as I know you need to install the 32-bit Oracle client because HP UFT is 32-bit application.

Hope this helps!

Accept as solution and give kudos to the author if the information helped you solve your problem.

View solution in original post

4 Replies
Highlighted
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

It looks like you don't have an ODBC driver installed. Check by doing the following:

Control Panel > Administrative Tools >  Data Sources (ODBC)  > Drivers Tab - If you don't see an ORacle driver here then you need to install one.

Mark Smith.

Highlighted
Respected Contributor.
Respected Contributor.

Hi Sperk,

Thanks for your help, I installed oracle client and now it appears Oracle en OraDB12home1. However I have the same problem!

I installed Oracle 64 bits, could it produces to fail?

Thanks!

0 Likes
Highlighted
Super Contributor.
Super Contributor.

Hi,

As far as I know you need to install the 32-bit Oracle client because HP UFT is 32-bit application.

Hope this helps!

Accept as solution and give kudos to the author if the information helped you solve your problem.