Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

How to Transform Test Scripts From QTP to UFT 12.5

Good afternoon ,

I am new to UFT and i woked as system analyst in a bank , now i am handling a task where i have to Transform old QTP Test Scripts that were made using VB to run it on UFT Version 12.5

The case in details is : i am having test scripts for T24 (Temenos) Core banking system , these scripts were made back in 2009 using QTP . and now My boss is having an initiative to run these scripts using UFT V 12.5 . would anyone advice how can i start or what to do ?

0 Likes
3 Replies
Highlighted
Absent Member.. Absent Member..
Absent Member..

In most QTP/UFT user guides there is a section that says if you can open test scripts created in older versions. With some of the products, you can open scripts only if they were made in the immediately previous version.

Check the UFT documentation for information.

[If this post solves or helps solve your issue, mark the thread as solved and give KUDOS to the author for their assistance.]

(Opinions expressed in my postings are mine alone, and do not reflect the opinions of my employer.No warranties express or implied for any solution/suggestion posted.)
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

When you are migrating scripts from older version to new version, here are the things to consider -

1. Your actual code - scripts / function libraries should open in the new version - this will not be an issue

2. Object Repository - this contains objects that QTP/UFT uses to interact with application. Now you say the scripts were developed back in 2009. The application would have undergone lots of changes since 7 years, and high chances are your script will not work with existing object definitions. So you will need to update the object repository.