Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Unable to create class instance

I am using QTP 9.5

I created 4 user-defined classes that provide access to some external testing framework facilities. Each of these classes resides in its own .qfl file. The 4 files are associated with my test using the Associate Function Libraries feature. There are no missing resources listed.

One of the user-defined classes is QaUtils. I have the following lines in my test:

Dim objQaUtils

Set objQaUtils = new QaUtils

The set statement causes the error:

Variable is undefined: 'QaUtils'

I am new to QTP, but it looks like the class definition is not in scope. Is there something else I need to do in my test in addition to including the class definition .qfl files as associated function libraries?
0 Likes
5 Replies
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Above your classes in the qfl file create some helper functions that return a class object.

Function NewQaUtils()
Set NewQaUtils = New QAUtils
End Function

Then call it from your test:

Dim objQaUtils
Set objQaUtils = NewQaUtils

This is an annoying quirk of QTP, but the workaround works.

Eric Schumacher
TDForums.com
0 Likes
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Unfortunately, QTP is a little bugged in this regard. You can only use the "new" operator if the class is inside the script. Classes defined in outside libraries need to use the following work around.

Method 1.
Use the executfile function. On the library. This will allow you to use the "new" operator. The downside is that you will not be able to debug the classes. This in my opinion is unworkable.

ExecuteFile "MyFunctions.vbs"

Method 2.
Inside the class library do this...

Class MyClass
End Class

Public Function New_MyClass()
Set New_MyClass = new myClass
End Function

Then inside your script you can reference the class...

Set myInst = New_MyClass()

Using this method, you can debug the class just like any other code.
0 Likes
Absent Member.
Absent Member.