Leandro Contributor.
Contributor.

Cannot identify the object "[ WebEdit ]" (of class WebEdit)

I am new to UFT, only one week using it.
My test is supposed to open a webpage and logon to it.
I am getting the error below:

Cannot identify the object "[ WebEdit ]" (of class WebEdit). Verify that this object's properties match an object currently displayed in your application.

Line (11): "objBrowserPage.WebEdit("name:=userid").Set "******"".

My findings:
1- I have 3 objects in the Objects Repository.
2- Names seem to be correct according to Object Spy/Highlight

3- The plugin “Web” is selected during UFT start up, however when I go to Tools > Object Identification,
I click on Environment, I can’t see the Web plugin in there.

I suspect the finding #3 could be why but I am unsure, if yes, how would I install/reinstall that plugin?
If not, what am I doing wrong?

I am using UFT 12.02 build 2374

Here is my code, the ***** simply means general data and is not part of it.

Dim objBrowserPage
Set objBrowserPage = Browser("index:=0").Page("title:=.*")

systemutil.Run "chrome.exe","https://newmibridgeslogin.michigan.gov/eai/login/authenticate?key=C4XZA2JpnYrBbJ2nI2b3HyD%2FESRBaUbre4MCmxXqTmU%3D"

objBrowserPage.WebEdit("name:=userid").Set "******"
objBrowserPage.WebEdit("name:=password").Set "*******" 
objBrowserPage.WebButton("name:=Log In").Click

0 Likes
5 Replies
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Re: Cannot identify the object "[ WebEdit ]" (of class WebEdit)

Hello Leandro,

Hope you are doing very well.

Could you please let me know if you can complete a recording of this objects on your application? maybe performin the login steps?

Also, could you please let me know what is the version of Google Chrome that you are using?

Did you select more add-ins than web from the UFT startup?

I'll be looking forward for your response.

Best Regards,

-Joaquin Viquez

Leandro Contributor.
Contributor.