Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

173 error can't find called program

Jump to solution

[Migrated content. Thread originally posted on 27 July 2011]

In Visual COBOL, I'm new to this environment, I'm getting an 173 Called program file not found in drive/directory: DATE from my program doing a call to a common date routing. I have a folder with all my common routines. How/where do I point to this folder? Can I do this on a global basis so I don't have to do it for all my programs individually?
0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

RE: 173 error can't find called program

Jump to solution
Is this managed code or native code that you are using?
How are these COBOL routines being packaged, as separate .dlls or compiled together as one .dll.

Is the name of the program that you are calling the same name as the .dll or is it an entry point within the .dll?

If this is a managed code project then it can be as simple as adding a reference in the calling programs project to the project of the called program.

To add a reference, right click on References for the calling programs project and select Add Reference. Then click the projects tab and select the name of the project where the called program resides.

If this is a native project then the .dll to be called needs to reside in the same folder as the calling program if the .dll has the same name as the program to be called. If it is not the same name then you need to preload the .dll to make the entry points known to the run-time using:

01 proc-pointer procedure-pointer.

set proc-pointer to entry "mydll.dll"
call "entryname"...

If you can provide more details as to how your solution is setup then I can be more precise in my response.

Thanks.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
5 Replies
Highlighted
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Jump to solution
How are these COBOL routines being packaged, as separate .dlls or compiled together as one .dll.