Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

ACUCOBOL windowing in Visual COBOL?

Jump to solution

[Migrated content. Thread originally posted on 19 August 2011]

I'm looking into migrating a system to Visual COBOL (at which I am a complete newbie) from Server Express 5.1. I threw the 268 programs that I have into the evaluation copy of VC for Eclipse and 265 of them compiled. The remaining three are quite important, as they are routines to handle pop-up windows, which we use a fair bit. They use the ACUCOBOL windowing syntax, which is implemented on Server Express by using the "window1" preprocessor directive. However, VC isn't happy with this. My understanding is that VC was partly introduced as a way of bringing ACUCOBOL, RM/COBOL and MF COBOL together, so I imagine that there is a way of using this syntax. I've tried omitting the preprocess directive completely, but that throws up compilation errors. Could anyone tell me what I need to do?
0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

RE: ACUCOBOL windowing in Visual COBOL?

Jump to solution
What I did in the end was rewrite the modules concerned to use PANELS. The documentation is here. I only had four modules to rewrite, it would have been a different proposition if we'd had large numbers.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
7 Replies
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Jump to solution
Thanks for that. I've now tried compiling with the ACU directive (after removing the SPZERO which is incompatible with ACU, which has been used as a substitute for proper coding by my predecessors) and I get

COBCH1544E ACU ACCEPT/DISPLAY extension is not supported

so I suspect I might need to use the ACUOPT directive and specify a particular ACUCOBOL directive but the documentation tells me to look at my ACUCOBOL documentation, of which I am sadly devoid.