Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Eclipse running "old" versions of the program

Hello.

I'm new to Cobol, but I'm experienced with Eclipse and programming at all.

I'm using Visual COBOL 2.2 for Eclipse. Eclipse Standard 4.3.2, Windows 8.1. Default parameters for all programs.

I'm learning simple programs, like "Hello World". All programs are text-based, nothing graphical.

But I have one very common and strange situation. I change a few lines but Eclipse still runs old version of my program!

Hypothetical Example:

procedure division.
           Display "Please, enter the Price"
           Accept Price
           Compute Price = Price * 1.2.
           Move Price to Price-ed.
           Display Price-ed.

goback.

I have included the most important part of the program, the divisions and sections are correct defined.

We see that Price is multiplied by 1.2. I change to other value, let's say 1.5, save the program, build, But when the program runs, it still computes 1.2

I change to 2.7 save the program, build, launch the program and it still computes 1.2. I need to close Eclipse, re-open, and then the correct value is executed.

I have a guess... Eclipse, or Visual COBOL, is running old, cached versions, of the program, not the new one.

Any help?

Thanks in advance.

Alvaro

Eclipse Standard 4.3.2 Eclipse Standard 4.3.2

0 Likes
2 Replies
Highlighted
Trusted Contributor.
Trusted Contributor.

Re: Eclipse running "old" versions of the program

I am having the same problem with Visual Cobol Personal Edition 4.0. I have a project with several .cbl programs. Eclipse only runs the first program I tested regardless of which cobol program I request. I have looked in Preferences/ run/install and I am not asking for the last program to be executed. Please assist. I am completely stopped in my testing.
0 Likes
Highlighted
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Re: Eclipse running "old" versions of the program