Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

How does MF INVOKE interface with windows?

Jump to solution

Hi,

I'm using MF Dialog ListView control in windows 10 visual cobol 2.3.2. Through intelligent guesswork I've added: INVOKE my-listview-item-objref  "centered"  to the MF generated listview prog i.e. to centre a col rather than justify R/L. I'm enjoying getting to grips with objects and have some questions... 

1. Does MF invoke literally pass the message, "centered" to the object, or is some kind of translation going on?

2. Is there a list somewhere of other listview attributes I can change? And is this list somehow restricted/controlled by MF or do I have direct access to all aspects of the Window's objects? 

3. (Someone else asked this recently)... Is there a good summary somewhere of how windows objects work and how MF programmers can interact with them? My background is strong COBOL but not object oriented programming. I do though have some javascript experience. 

Many thanks,

Linden     

Linden Rowland - IT Consultant
Owner/Developer, www.SchoolReportWriter.com
IT Consultant to Tindle Newspaper Group

0 Likes
2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

RE: How does MF INVOKE interface with windows?

Jump to solution

Hi Linden,

I would strongly recommend that for any new GUI development projects that you should NOT use Dialog System and the native OO Class Libraries.

We included Dialog System support in Visual COBOL for compatibility purposes for customers migrating from Net Express who had existing applications that used Dialog System.

We recommend that for any new GUI development work that you instead use managed code templates based on .NET technologies such as Windows Forms (WinForms) or Windows Presentation Foundation (WPF). These use standard class libraries provided by Microsoft as part of the .NET Framework.