Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

JVM COBOL calling java MQ classes

In Visual COBOL 2.1 for Eclipse, I'm trying to build a JVM application that I would want to deploy on z/Linux, so created a  COBOL JVM Class, coded the statement  $set ilusing"com.ibm.mq", add a JAR to the JVM Build Path in which package com.ibm.mq exists, then wrote the line of code  

set mqmanager to new MQQueueManager(qMgrName)  in a method within the class. I cannot get the compiler/builder to recognize MQQueueManager as a class that I can access. I get the error message "COBCH0845S Unknown class 'MQQueueManager' "

I added some ilusing statements for java.lang, and can quite happily access classes like Integer.

I'm very new to this environment including object COBOL, but I think I've set up everything I should to have my class invoke a java class.

So, what am I doing wrong.

0 Likes
11 Replies
Highlighted
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

RE: JVM COBOL calling java MQ classes

From what I remember about MQ's Java support it also requires PATH/LIBPATH to be setup for it to work,

when you added the .jar file to CLASSPATH or the eclipse build path did you also setup the native

library path too?

re: www-01.ibm.com/.../docview.wss

0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Just to confirm. Can I set the CLASSPATH within Eclipse or in a Command Window?

0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

I set up the CLASSPATH environment variable per the IBM info. But to no avail. Eclipse/Visual COBOL is finding the class in the package within the .jar file. I would just like to write the program and compile it. Then I can promote getting Visual COBOL as a full product in house. I really do not want to write the whole program/process in Java, but if I can't access the MQ class library I will have to. One thing of interest, if I go into the Java perspective in Eclipse, I can see the .jar file, the packages in it and the drill down to the classes and methods!!!!

0 Likes