Jens Forsberg Trusted Contributor.
Trusted Contributor.

Project properties and directives

Jump to solution

I'm new to Visual COBOL and trying to figure out how to use (1) Project Properties, (2) Tools / Options / Micro Focus / Directives, (3) the $SET command and (4) the Application.Config file correctly.

The only project type I'm working with is INT/GNT. I use Visual Studio 2017 on Windows as IDE. I use Oracle's Pro*COBOL precompiler.

Here are some of my questions and thoughts.

1) By default VC seems to read the pcbcfg.cfg file in the [oracle]/precomp/admin. If I would like to have different cfg files for different situations, where do I put the directive to point to the cfg file I want to use?

2) In Project Properties - Application there is an Environment button. If you click on that you can enter differents settings. When do you want to do this and when will they be used?

3) In Project Properties - SQL there is an Add button for adding directives for the chosen preprocessor. But there is a textbox for "additional directives" as well. What is the difference?

4) In Project Properties - COBOL there is a textbox for "additional directives". When are you supposed to use this? In the same tab there is an "Advanced" button where you can enter copybook paths. What's the reason for this option when you already have the Copybooks tab?

5) When do you use the Application.Config file?

6) If you have multiple projects, is it then necessary to have one Application.Config file for each project or is it possible to have a common file? Or, in this case, should you put your common entries in Project Properties (if that is possible)?

7) When are you supposed to use Tools / Options / Micro Focus / Directives?

😎 There doesn't seem to be a way to add the P(CP) directive somewhere. Anyway, when I use the Determine Directives it gets added to the cblproj file. Is this the correct way to add the P(CP) directive?